Happy Thanksgiving!

When I was younger, Thanksgiving wasn’t on the top of my list of favorite holidays. Of course, I understood the reason for the season and recited the things I was thankful for, but there weren’t any gifts or candy or fantastical holiday mascots. As I grew older, the appeal of an autumn feast, dripping thick cuts of browned turkey and sweet slices of honey smoked ham, heaping spoonfuls of buttery mashed potatoes topped with homemade gravy, golden brown fresh baked rolls, and creamy green bean casserole, two or three helpings of each, followed by a generous slice of warm apple pie, glazed with cinnamon and topped with melting ice cream or a giant serving of pumpkin pie and homemade whipped cream, couldn’t change my mind. The first tournament of wrestling season was always right around the corner, and I took meager portions of everything, enough to try every little morsel but not enough to make the holiday exciting. More recently, especially since I have moved farther from my hometown and family, Thanksgiving has been one of my favorite holidays. There’s no longer any complaint about the size of my plate, which ends up nearly buckling under the weight of all of the delicious food. It’s also a great kick-off to the winter holiday season, and there are no gripes about this time of year. And finally, it’s a chance to see friends and family, the ones I love and who love me. I am thankful for Thanksgiving, and this year was a good one. Have a happy holiday weekend!

2014-11-26 20.07.05

Leave a Reply

